Facebook Will Help You Forget Lost Loves

Ty Dunitz October 20 Facebook

Hey, you know Facebook’s ‘Photo Memories?’ Do you have the same problem I have, where every single one seems to be from the same album, featuring the same person (or two people)? What’s the deal with that – like, beyond an algorithm that determines with whom you interact most? Do you like that person (or people)? What if you don’t? Y’know, anymore? What if you just had a nasty breakup with that (those) person (people)? Seeing their face in the sidebar refresh after refresh is probably pretty painful. Facebook is now taking steps to deal with this.

According to Inside Facebook, Facebook will no longer be displaying those you’ve previously been ‘In A Relationship With’, much to the relieved sighs of broken hearts the world over.

Said Facebook’s Sam Odio of the change: “Hi all–I’d like to let you know that we’re listening to your feedback. The photo memories product no longer shows tagged photos of your friends if you were previously in a relationship with them.”

Well, that’s good of you, Sam.

Of course, this doesn’t account for those you didn’t declare a relationship with, as well as those you’re friends with on Facebook who are now in a relationship with your ex, but hey, it’s just a machine. It’s doing the best it can.

Written by Ty Dunitz

Ty is an illustrator who stays up too late, and has to wear glasses. You can follow him on Twitter if you want to (@glitchritual), but he's just gonna throw your stupid PR crap in the garbage, so don't email him.
SEE MORE ARTICLES BY "Ty Dunitz"

Related posts
Comments

Comments »

No comments yet.

Name (required)

E-mail (required - never shown publicly)

Web-site

Your Comment