Skip to main content
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.

Compare stocks

Open shareable comparison

Up to four covered tickers. Each observation retains its source date.

Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NYSE · Consumer Cyclical · Holders

General Motors (GM) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top GM institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 25, 4:00 PM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 27, 3:14 AM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

GM

Market closedLatest regular-session print

$82.63

▲ +$2.06(+2.56%)4:00 PM ET - vs previous close

Quote as of Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT

US market market is closed. Showing the latest available regular-session trade from Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT.

52w high$91.85

52w low$54.33

Yahoo Finance · latest regular-session print · as of Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT · delay not stated · current source

Today66%
$80.91L Sep 25 '26$83.50H Sep 25 '26

Ownership read

GM insider transaction activity: Mixed, sale-heavy.

Blackrock Inc. is the largest institutional holder. 33 sales and 1 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

GM

Purchases12.00K
Sales5.36M

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

77.31M

Blackrock Inc.

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, sale-heavy

$358.44M sold / $607.92K bought

Filings shown

101

10 holder / 91 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · delayed, minutes not stated · as of 2026-09-25 20:00 · delay not stated · current source
Increased / initiated
4
6 decreased
Insider rows
91
Yahoo Finance · delayed, minutes not stated · as of 2026-09-25 20:00 · delay not stated · current source

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
38.57% outstanding
Reported position changes
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest reported increase
No increase reported

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 5,351,921

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 34
  • Other / unclassified: 20
  • Conversion / exercise: 27
  • Grant: 10

Top 10 institutional holders

General Motors (GM) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Blackrock Inc.

Rank #1

8.81%

Shares
77.31M
Change %
-6.47%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

Vanguard Capital Management LLC

Rank #2

6.71%

Shares
58.89M
Change %
+0.26%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

State Street Corporation

Rank #3

5.06%

Shares
44.44M
Change %
-0.16%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC

Rank #4

4.32%

Shares
37.94M
Change %
+0.39%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Franklin Resources, Inc.

Rank #5

3.57%

Shares
31.30M
Change %
-13.15%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

Geode Capital Management, LLC

Rank #6

2.49%

Shares
21.81M
Change %
-0.97%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

FMR, LLC

Rank #7

2.18%

Shares
19.13M
Change %
+26.61%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Capital World Investors

Rank #8

2.11%

Shares
18.51M
Change %
-0.58%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

Shaw D.E. & Co., Inc.

Rank #9

1.71%

Shares
15.00M
Change %
+21.78%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Dimensional Fund Advisors LP

Rank #10

1.61%

Shares
14.10M
Change %
-0.90%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

General Motors (GM) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

DIXTON GRANT MICHAEL

Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
40.00K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$88.44
Value
$3,537,600

Transaction Aug 3, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

DIXTON GRANT MICHAEL

Officer

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
79.13K
% company
<0.01%

Transaction Jul 30, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

ANDERSON STERLING

Officer

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
95.95K
% company
0.01%

Transaction Jul 29, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

REUSS MARK L

President

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
71.08K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$89.97
Value
$6,394,978

Transaction Jul 28, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

HATTO CHRISTOPHER

Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
6.89K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$90.00
Value
$620,550

Transaction Jul 28, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

BARRA MARY TERESA

Chief Executive Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
422.81K
% company
0.05%
Price
$89.13
Value
$37,685,906

Transaction Jul 28, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

BARRA MARY TERESA

Chief Executive Officer

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
259.56K
% company
0.03%
Price
$47.63
Value
$12,362,648

Transaction Jul 28, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

REUSS MARK L

President

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
71.08K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$49.46
Value
$3,515,567

Transaction Jul 28, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

HARVEY RORY

Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
8.88K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$86.95
Value
$772,290

Transaction Jul 27, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

BARRA MARY TERESA

Chief Executive Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
99.24K
% company
0.01%
Price
$85.10
Value
$8,445,239

Transaction Jun 16, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

BARRA MARY TERESA

Chief Executive Officer

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
99.24K
% company
0.01%
Price
$49.14
Value
$4,877,032

Transaction Jun 16, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

BARRA MARY TERESA

Chief Executive Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
20.58K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$85.00
Value
$1,749,470

Transaction Jun 9, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

Showing 12 of 91 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest GM shareholders?

Blackrock Inc. is the largest reported institutional holder of GM, with 77.31 million shares, or about 8.81% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for GM?

General Motors has 10 institutional rows on file: 4 increased or initiated positions and 6 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for GM?

TECHi shows 91 dated GM insider transactions through Aug 3, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are GM insiders buying or selling?

The displayed GM activity reads Mixed, sale-heavy: 33 sales and 1 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported GM insider?

BARRA MARY TERESA has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed GM filing rows, totaling 6.71 million shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds