Skip to main content
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.

Compare stocks

Open shareable comparison

Up to four covered tickers. Each observation retains its source date.

Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NASDAQ · Technology · Holders

Akamai Technologies, Inc. (AKAM) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top AKAM institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 25, 4:00 PM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 26, 9:23 PM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

AKAM

Market closedLatest regular-session print

$113.94

▲ +$3.53(+3.20%)4:00 PM ET - vs previous close

Quote as of Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT

US market market is closed. Showing the latest available regular-session trade from Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT.

52w high$165.45

52w low$70.82

Yahoo Finance · latest regular-session print · as of Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT · delay not stated · current source

Today1%
$113.84L Sep 25 '26$128.46H Sep 25 '26

Ownership read

AKAM insider transaction activity: Mixed, sale-heavy.

Capital World Investors is the largest institutional holder. 41 sales and 2 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

AKAM

Purchases53.00K
Sales256.45K

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

11.20M

Capital World Investors

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, sale-heavy

$23.9M sold / $3.83M bought

Filings shown

130

10 holder / 120 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · delayed, minutes not stated · as of 2026-09-25 20:00 · delay not stated · current source
Increased / initiated
8
2 decreased
Insider rows
120
Yahoo Finance · delayed, minutes not stated · as of 2026-09-25 20:00 · delay not stated · current source

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
44.45% outstanding
Reported position changes
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest reported increase
No increase reported

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 203,454

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 43
  • Other / unclassified: 67
  • Grant: 10

Top 10 institutional holders

Akamai Technologies, Inc. (AKAM) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Capital World Investors

Rank #1

7.80%

Shares
11.20M
Change %
+65.62%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Blackrock Inc.

Rank #2

7.28%

Shares
10.46M
Change %
+0.45%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Vanguard Capital Management LLC

Rank #3

6.61%

Shares
9.50M
Change %
+1.16%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC

Rank #4

5.05%

Shares
7.26M
Change %
-3.57%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

State Street Corporation

Rank #5

4.02%

Shares
5.77M
Change %
+4.68%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

First Trust Advisors LP

Rank #6

3.31%

Shares
4.75M
Change %
-0.59%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

Geode Capital Management, LLC

Rank #7

2.94%

Shares
4.23M
Change %
+2.67%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Invesco Ltd.

Rank #8

2.72%

Shares
3.91M
Change %
+12.49%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Bank of America Corporation

Rank #9

2.48%

Shares
3.57M
Change %
+8.31%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Royal Bank of Canada

Rank #10

2.24%

Shares
3.23M
Change %
+167.84%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Akamai Technologies, Inc. (AKAM) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

JOSEPH PAUL C

Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
3.10K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$105.63
Value
$327,453

Transaction Sep 15, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

HOWELL LAURA

Officer

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
323
% company
<0.01%

Transaction Sep 11, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

JOSEPH PAUL C

Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
3.10K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$126.77
Value
$392,987

Transaction Jul 15, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

BLUMOFE ROBERT

Chief Technology Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
243
% company
<0.01%
Price
$129.41
Value
$31,447

Transaction Jun 18, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

HOWELL LAURA

Officer

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
322
% company
<0.01%

Transaction Jun 12, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

SALEM-JACKSON KIM

Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
2.30K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$135.57
Value
$311,811

Transaction Jun 10, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

HESSE DANIEL R

Director

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
2.34K
% company
<0.01%

Transaction May 20, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

MILLER JONATHAN FRANK

Director

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
3.55K
% company
<0.01%

Transaction May 14, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

AKELLA JANAKI

Director

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
3.03K
% company
<0.01%

Transaction May 14, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

BURGER BAS

Director

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
3.03K
% company
<0.01%

Transaction May 14, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

AHOLA AARON

General Counsel

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
4.50K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$106.27
Value
$478,216

Transaction Mar 16, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

JOSEPH PAUL C

Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
5.00K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$106.25
Value
$531,256

Transaction Mar 16, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

Showing 12 of 120 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest AKAM shareholders?

Capital World Investors is the largest reported institutional holder of AKAM, with 11.20 million shares, or about 7.80% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for AKAM?

Akamai Technologies, Inc. has 10 institutional rows on file: 8 increased or initiated positions and 2 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for AKAM?

TECHi shows 120 dated AKAM insider transactions through Sep 15, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are AKAM insiders buying or selling?

The displayed AKAM activity reads Mixed, sale-heavy: 41 sales and 2 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported AKAM insider?

LEIGHTON F THOMSON has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed AKAM filing rows, totaling 194,099 shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds