Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

Holders

Tesla Inc. (TSLA) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top TSLA institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 25, 4:00 PM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 26, 7:32 AM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

TSLA

Market closedLatest regular-session print

$372.11

▼ -$5.83(-1.54%)4:00 PM ET - vs previous closei

Quote as of Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT

US market market is closed. Showing the latest available regular-session trade from Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT.

52w high$498.83

52w low$297.38

Yahoo Finance · latest regular-session print · as of Sep 25, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT · delay not stated · current source

Today23%
$367.67L Sep 25 '26$386.83H Sep 25 '26

Ownership read

TSLA insider transaction activity: Mixed, buy-heavy.

Blackrock Inc. is the largest institutional holder. 45 sales and 2 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

TSLA

Purchases2.57M
Sales2.24M

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

214.12M

Blackrock Inc.

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, buy-heavy

$779.94M sold / $1B bought

Filings shown

104

10 holder / 94 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · delayed, minutes not stated · as of 2026-09-25 20:00 · delay not stated · current source
Increased / initiated
8
2 decreased
Insider rows
94
Yahoo Finance · delayed, minutes not stated · as of 2026-09-25 20:00 · delay not stated · current source

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
21.65% outstanding
Reported position changes
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest reported increase
No increase reported

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: -330,625

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 47
  • Other / unclassified: 8
  • Conversion / exercise: 34
  • Gift: 5

Top 10 institutional holders

Tesla Inc. (TSLA) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Blackrock Inc.

Rank #1

5.42%

Shares
214.12M
Change %
+2.90%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Vanguard Capital Management LLC

Rank #2

4.66%

Shares
184.02M
Change %
+0.64%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

State Street Corporation

Rank #3

2.97%

Shares
117.46M
Change %
+2.41%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Geode Capital Management, LLC

Rank #4

1.74%

Shares
68.91M
Change %
+1.34%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Invesco Ltd.

Rank #5

1.40%

Shares
55.46M
Change %
+1.06%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC

Rank #6

1.25%

Shares
49.55M
Change %
+0.60%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Capital World Investors

Rank #7

1.16%

Shares
45.74M
Change %
+6.60%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

JPMORGAN CHASE & CO

Rank #8

1.06%

Shares
41.97M
Change %
-8.90%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

FMR, LLC

Rank #9

1.01%

Shares
39.77M
Change %
+10.38%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Increased

Morgan Stanley

Rank #10

0.98%

Shares
38.87M
Change %
-0.78%
Position / filing
Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown

Decreased

Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Tesla Inc. (TSLA) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

TANEJA VAIBHAV

Chief Financial Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
2.60K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$360.24
Value
$938,419

Transaction Sep 8, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

TANEJA VAIBHAV

Chief Financial Officer

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
6.54K
% company
<0.01%

Transaction Sep 4, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

MUSK ELON REEVE

Chief Executive Officer

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
303.96M
% company
7.70%
Price
$23.34
Value
$7,094,441,104

Transaction Jun 16, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

TANEJA VAIBHAV

Chief Financial Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
2.60K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$402.27
Value
$1,047,924

Transaction Jun 8, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

TANEJA VAIBHAV

Chief Financial Officer

OtherProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
6.54K
% company
<0.01%

Transaction Jun 5, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

TANEJA VAIBHAV

Chief Financial Officer

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
3.00K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$450.00
Value
$1,350,000

Transaction May 13, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

TANEJA VAIBHAV

Chief Financial Officer

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
3.00K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$18.29
Value
$54,880

Transaction May 13, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

WILSON - THOMPSON KATHLEEN

Director

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
40.95K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$14.99
Value
$613,811

Transaction Apr 30, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

WILSON - THOMPSON KATHLEEN

Director

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
26.41K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$378.11
Value
$9,985,390

Transaction Apr 30, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

ZHU XIAOTONG

Officer

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
20.00K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$20.57
Value
$411,400

Transaction Mar 31, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

WILSON - THOMPSON KATHLEEN

Director

Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Shares
40.00K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$14.99
Value
$599,600

Transaction Mar 30, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

WILSON - THOMPSON KATHLEEN

Director

SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Shares
25.81K
% company
<0.01%
Price
$359.33
Value
$9,273,888

Transaction Mar 30, 2026

Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

Showing 12 of 94 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest TSLA shareholders?

Blackrock Inc. is the largest reported institutional holder of TSLA, with 214.12 million shares, or about 5.42% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for TSLA?

Tesla Inc. has 10 institutional rows on file: 8 increased or initiated positions and 2 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for TSLA?

TECHi shows 94 dated TSLA insider transactions through Sep 8, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are TSLA insiders buying or selling?

The displayed TSLA activity reads Mixed, buy-heavy: 45 sales and 2 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported TSLA insider?

MUSK ELON REEVE has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed TSLA filing rows, totaling 307.01 million shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Companies A–Z

Companies that share this ticker’s letter. Other letters open in the stocks directory.

Full directory